Passion 2013

At the beginning of January, Aaron and I (along with three of my good college friends) attended Passion 2013. It’s technically a “conference” – but it’s so much more than that. It’s a gathering of 18-25 year olds that come together to lift the name of Jesus. Each year there is a focus on missions, so to speak, and the last few years it has been about slavery, especially sex trafficking. 

This was my fourth year to go, and each year has been so different. I’ve gone with different people, stayed different places, traveled different ways, etc. But much more than that, God teaches me new things each year. I consider Passion to be an “awakening” of sorts. 

This year, one of the first messages is what stuck out to me most. He is the God of immeasurably more. Louie Giglio brought up Mark 9:23, which says, “What do you mean, ‘If I can?’ Jesus asked. “Anything is possible if a person believes.” Sadly, too often I doubt God’s abilities. One of the things Louie focused on was praying to God to help us overcome our unbelief. As a Christian, it’s hard to admit when we have unbelief. Even as I sat there listening, I thought… I don’t struggle with unbelief. I fully believe in, trust and love God – no doubts here. And just like that, God kind of nudged me and I realized how often I don’t believe he can or will do certain things in my life. 

God’s promises can be trusted. As Beth Moore talked about Exodus 6:6-7, we are reminded that God promises to bring us out, to deliver us from slavery, to redeem us and to take us as His people. 

We receive the Good News, but are we actually glad about it? Am I? Do I show it?

We meet obstacles that keep us from experiencing the type of joy that Christ deserves. And we feel like we’re waiting on God to act, but it’s so much more about the Lord waiting on us, than it is us waiting on Him.

I’m striving to be more glad, and show more gladness, in the Good News; to choose joy.

Leave a Reply

